The Gold Award 2014

Gold14 WebBanner2.jpg

4 July - 31 August 2014

In 2010 Rockhampton Art Gallery Trust received a substantial bequest from the Estate of Moya Gold for the acquisition of Australian paintings. The Trustees decided to use the interest accumulated in the Gold Trust to fund a new biennial painting award.

Designed as an invitation award to acquire contemporary Australian art, the most outstanding work or works by an artist are awarded a cash prize of $50,000 and acquired by Rockhampton Art Gallery. Invited artists are encouraged to submit more than one work as part of the Award, to create a fulsome and rich exhibition that offers a coherent vision of an artist’s practice.

The Gold Award is a premier biennial event of national significance for the Central Queensland region presented by Rockhampton Art Gallery and is a joint initiative of the Rockhampton Art Gallery Philanthropy Board and Rockhampton Regional Council.

Moya Gold (1928-2000), philanthropist and educator, understood the joys and opportunities that the arts and education can bring. She chose to organise her estate to benefit Rockhampton Art Gallery and CQUniversity Australia.

Born in Townsville, Moya graduated as a teacher in Brisbane and later completed a Bachelor of Arts at CIAE (Rockhampton) in 1980. She had a strong interest in students with special needs, eventually working with the Special Education Department of Education Queensland, supervising remedial teachers in a number schools. She was made a Fellow of the Australian College of Educators in recognition of her work.

Moya and her husband Mervyn Gold were dedicated supporters of the arts, Rockhampton Art Gallery and CQUniversity. A member of the CQU Alumni Committee, she was so impressed with the achievements of international students that she established the Moya Gold CQU International Student of the Year award in 1997, attending every ceremony personally to present the award.


2014 marked the second instalment of The Gold Award at Rockhampton Art Gallery. The award was judged by Glenn Barkley, independent curator and former senior curator at Museum of Contemporary Art. The eight artists that were invited to exhibit were:
Peter ATKINS (Vic)
Del Kathryn BARTON (NSW)
Julie FRAGAR (Qld)
Abbey McCULLOCH (Qld)
Imants TILLERS (NSW) (Winner)