The Bayton Award 2019

Bayton Website Page Image.jpg

22 June 2019 – 4 August 2019

The Bayton Award highlights the creativity and variety of artistic endeavour in the Central Queensland region. Drawing on artwork produced over the last twelve months, the exhibition of finalists reveals the shared concerns of artists living in Central Queensland. It is a snapshot of the many ways artists create and indicates the depth of creative skill across our community.

An initiative of the Rockhampton Art Gallery Philanthropy Board, Rockhampton Regional Council, and hosted by the Rockhampton Art Gallery; The Bayton Award is valued to $17,000 and comprises cash and in-kind contributions, awarding the winner $5,000 cash, acquisition of the winning work to Rockhampton Art Gallery’s collection, an international Residency to Zhenjiang, Jiangsu, China and a solo exhibition at the New Rockhampton Art Gallery. The award is named in recognition of the Right Reverend John Bayton AM for his significant contribution to the development of the Rockhampton Art Gallery Collection, including some of Rockhampton Art Gallery’s most significant works of art through the Whitlam Government’s Contemporary Australian Art for Art Galleries scheme. Previous winners have included Tobias De Maine (2017), Carmel Knowles (2015), Kobie Swart (2013), Patrick Connor (2012).


The Bayton Award 2019 features new works of art from: Ainslie MCMAHON; Andrea CHAPMAN; Anitha MENON; Belinda MCGRATH; Belynda WAUGH; Cajetan GOVES; Carmen BEEZLEY-DRAKE; Catherine BOREHAM; Christine HOLDEN; Emma WARD; Erin DUNNE; Geoffrey HEAD; Karen STEPHENS; Maree PURNELL; Michele KERSHAW; Michelle BLACK; Nanette BALCHIN; Nora HANASY; Peta LLOYD; Rosemary ANDERSON; Sarah LARSEN; Sue KRAATZ; Veronika ZEIL; William DEBOIS; Yvonne MOLONEY-LAW



Price: Free

Where: Rockhampton Art Gallery, Gold Room and Range Room
Parking: Victoria Parade or Bolsover Car Park behind the Gallery