All That Shimmers: Collection of The Gold Award


17 August - 27 October 2019  

All That Shimmers: Collection of The Gold Award, seeks to display all works acquired by Rockhampton Art Gallery through The Gold Award for the first time in the Gallery's history. 

Conceived in 2010 and first presented in 2012, The Gold Award has now been presented on four occasions showcasing 33 finalists. On all of these occasions the artists, and by virtue the Award, has explored new concepts and challenged expected limitations of painting as an art form. As an acquisitive Award, The Gold Award is Rockhampton Art Gallery’s opportunity to expand upon their already nationally significant collection. 

Rockhampton Art Gallery is committed to a collecting focus on modern and contemporary Australian art. The Gold Award has contributed significantly to this aim, with Sally Gabori’s monumental painting Dibirdibi Country winning inaugural Gold Award in 2012, Imants Tillers's Epiphany winning the Gold Award 2014, Jon Cattapan's Raft City No. 4 (surveillance version) in 2016, and Richard Bell's Untitled in 2018. Recent acquisitions from The Gold Award have included works by Ben Quilty, Kate Shaw, Jason Benjamin, Del Kathryn Barton, Tony Albert, Dale Frank, Michael Zavros and Richard Lewer.

Image: Bundit Puangthong, Sharp knife (2018), acrylic, spray paint and soft pastel on linen (detail). Image courtesy of the artist and Edwina Corlette Gallery. 

Price: FREE
Where: Rockhampton Art Gallery
Parking: Victoria Parade or Bolsover Car Park behind the Gallery